ANU Chancellor’s International Scholarship

In 2021, The Australian National University (ANU) will offer up to 200 awards known as the ANU Chancellor’s International Scholarship. The ANU looks to attract a diverse range of high calibre international students to enrol in undergraduate and postgraduate coursework programs offered by the University. The scholarship is available only for applicants commencing their studies in Semester 1 2021.

These awards are distributed into 6 categories:

Category Number of Awards Scholarship Value
Undergraduate International applicants 25  up
to $25,000
Postgraduate International applicants 75  up to $15,000
International applicants from South Asia Region   50   up to $25,000
International applicants from South-East Asia Region  30  up
to $25,000
International applicants from Middle East and Africa Region    10  up
to $25,000
International applicants who have completed International Baccalaureate (IB)   10  up to $20,000

Applicants will be assessed in the above categories based on their citizenship.

Field of study:

Any Discipline


The award is available to a prospective ANU applicant who: 
(a) is an international student, either currently residing inside or outside Australia;

(b) has received an offer of admission for a coursework program (Undergraduate or Postgraduate) to commence in Semester 1 2021 (excluding Graduate Certificates);

(c) is self-funded for fee purposes and is a full-fee paying student (i.e. is not the recipient of a tuition fee sponsorship by a government or organisation); 

(d) (For region-specific Awards) is a citizen of a country in the regions defined below: 
        i.    South Asia: Bangladesh; Bhutan; Maldives; India; Nepal; Pakistan; Sri Lanka. 
       ii.    South East Asia: Brunei; Cambodia; Indonesia; Laos; Malaysia; Myanmar; Philippines; Singapore; Thailand; Timor-Leste; Vietnam. 
      iii.    Middle East & Africa: Any country of Africa; Bahrain; Iraq; Iran; Israel; Jordan; Kuwait; Lebanon; Oman; Palestine; Qatar; Kingdom of Saudi Arabia; Syria; United Arab Emirates; Yemen; Turkey. 

(e) must have completed their International Baccalaureate to be eligible for the specific IB scholarships category.


Selection will be made on the basis of an applicant meeting the eligibility criteria and academic merit. Qualifications submitted for admission at ANU will be converted to the common scale which will determine an applicant’s place on the merit list. Eligible applicants with multiple qualifications will be ranked according to the qualification used as the basis of admission.  
Grade Point Average (GPA) on a 7.0 scale will be used for eligible postgraduate applicants. ATAR equivalent will be used for eligible undergraduate applicants.


The scholarship benefits vary across the six categories of scholarship as listed above.

The actual scholarship amount is applied only in Semester 2 2021.

How to apply:

There is no separate application process as applicants are automatically considered based on the applicants meeting the eligibility criteria.

The applicants will be informed of their scholarship award on the day that they receive their offer to ANU.

Note that scholarship offers may be given out a few days after the academic offer in case of Round 3.

How to accept:

Applicants will need to accept both their academic offer and their scholarship offer separately. More information to be provided with your offer letters.

For detailed information regarding the scholarship programme, plesase check this website

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.